Album Review: Alice Cooper – Road

Alice Cooper – Road

August 29, 2023

ALBUM REVIEW

OVERALL (OUT OF 10): 3

One of the more ridiculous aspects of the American secondary educational system is the way that coaches, band directors, drama teachers and the like completely warp students’ perspective on their life’s priorities.  Of course, the propagandization rife in the American educational system is pretty ridiculous as well (and is currently getting much, much worse), few things have rocked my world as much as reading James Loewen’s Lies My Teacher Told Me and realizing the extent to which my public school education had been exquisitely designed to keep me away from the skeletons in the American closet.  Gotta give those young ‘uns a sense of blind unquestioning patriotism, you never know when you might need ‘em for cannon fodder, and it’s a lot easier if they’ve been conditioned to go not just willingly, but enthusiastically.  After all, American business interests across the globe aren’t going to protect themselves (see War is a Racket, a remarkable and sobering book by the most decorated U.S. Marine in history and the original brutally honest writer, Major General Smedley Darlington Butler).  

But even if American high schools weren’t mostly designed to produce good little cogs in the machinery of the American military-industrial complex, they’d still be pretty ridiculous for forcing extracurricular activities to consume a young persons’ life.  The football coach thinks winning football games is the only thing that matters, so he makes damn well sure his players also think winning football games is the only thing that matters (quite willingly aided by overzealous parents who put their kids in elite little league teams from 3rd grade on so they have a better chance of making the high school team).  The drama teacher for some bizarre reason thinks their version of Once Upon a Mattress is going to change the world à la Waiting for Guffman, so when it consumes their world for the whole semester, they make sure it consumes the worlds of all of the drama nerds too.  And marching band, don’t even get me started on marching band.  Marching band isn’t an extracurricular activity, it’s a cult, and its cult leaders mercilessly drill their adherents for hours on end on meaningless marching band routines that have exactly zero applicability to anything they could possibly do in their future lives.  I mean, how many people do you know who make their living as part of a professional marching band?

Somehow my son got sucked into that cult, and because marching band is the most important damn thing in the entire known universe, the marching band director thinks nothing of making dozens of parents wait an extra half hour past pickup time while he drills the students on their routines a couple more times.  And so it was I recently found myself with a little time on my hands to listen to the new Alice Cooper album, Road.  The point of all of this castigation of the American educational system (and I do have one) is that when the cult finally let my son go for the night, I was listening to “Rules of the Road”, and he listened for a couple of minutes and said “Dad, this song is terrible”.  And I couldn’t argue with that.  But when we got home, he walked in the door singing “These are the rules of the road…”, and he was singing it for the rest of the night.

And that, in a nutshell, is what I think of Alice’s new album.  The songs are painfully mediocre, nothing really grabs you, the album is chock full of the same guitar parts you’ve heard on every metal album ever made, along with halfhearted attempts at humor that don’t really land.  But the choruses are just catchy enough to stick in your head for a while.  Can you build a great album on moderately catchy choruses?  Screw “to be or not to be”, that’s really the question.

The best of these moderately catchy choruses is album opener “I’m Alice”.  It’s kind of anthemic, and fairly catchy, if oddly self-referential.  If Alice wants to engage in that kind of self-promotion, sure, whatever, that’s the biz really.  I get the song because I’ve been an Alice Cooper fan for more than three decades now, but if you aren’t a big fan of The Coop you’ll have a hard time figuring out what it’s all about.  Is it a song that really connects to me in any way?   Well, no.  But neither does “Tie Me Kangaroo Down”, and I love that song.  Is the chorus quite catchy enough to make me love the song like I love “Tie Me Kangaroo Down”?  No – it’s catchy, but it’s not quite that catchy, and that’s pretty much the story of the whole album – not quite that catchy. 

“Welcome to the Show” is just a decentish chorus with a few formulaic lines in the verses, not much of a song really.  It’s got a couple of great solos, especially the one played by Nita Strauss (you can always tell which solos she is playing on the album, she has such a readily identifiable style.  Best guitarist Alice ever worked with bar none).  But the song is really nothing to get too excited about, and so here I am feeling unexcited about it. Nothing to see here, citizens, go on about your business.  Like the rest of the album, the song has a somewhat engaging chorus, and like of lot of them this one has a couple of really ripping solos in the middle – but somehow it just isn’t enough to pull me in. 

The whole album is like that. There just isn’t enough there to impress me.  Most of the songs are built on generic, rote guitar riffs.  A couple have some riffs that are somewhat engaging (that riff on “All Over the World” isn’t bad, “The Big Goodbye” is also a little better than the rest) – but it just isn’t enough.  After several listens, this just isn’t an album that’s compelling enough for me to want to hear it again.  The songs just don’t work for me.

With a couple of exceptions – “Baby Please Don’t Go” is surprisingly moving.  After listening to a bunch of songs that didn’t just reach out and grab me, this one took me by surprise.  Part of it is Alice’s emotional singing – he really, genuinely sounds like someone begging someone else not to leave.  He has always been a master of vocal acting – throughout his career he has time and again used his voice to play the part of a character in a song, I’m kind of surprised he never got into voicing cartoon characters, he has such a remarkable talent as a voice actor.  While all of these songs are supposed to be about life on the road, this is the only one that feels real, the only one that isn’t just going through the motions.  It’s the only song that feels like Alice is drawing on his own experiences rather than simply spouting clichés about life on the road.  Best new song on the album hands down.

Alice resurrected “Road Rats” from 1977’s Lace and Whiskey (an underrated album in my estimation), and it’s an awesome song, but this version doesn’t add anything to the original really.  The original rocked pretty hard, so this version can’t help but seem a little superfluous.  Adding a “Forever” to the title to make it “Road Rats Forever” doesn’t add enough to the song to make it different enough to be worth my time, I already had a perfectly good version as it was.  All of that said, this one’s killer, and maybe there is a point to putting it on this album for the billions of people in the world who don’t have a copy of Lace and Whiskey.  They should have invited co-writer Dick Wagner to play guitar on it though, that would have been a nice gesture. (Note – Several readers have pointed out there was a good reason Dick wasn’t invited, and that is because he died in 2014. My bad, I should have known).

I actually really like Alice’s version of “Magic Bus”, and it takes the album out on something of a high note.  The clever juxtaposition of the guitar part from Hendrix’s “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” with The Who’s “Magic Bus” gets my attention, and there is some exceptional guitarwork on the song.  The vocals are fire, Alice is having a great time, and it shows.  Truly a joyful rendition, and hate me for saying it, but I think this version is even better than The Who’s version.  Except for the drum solo at the end, expertly played and boring as hell as all drum solos are, it does take a little of the shine off of what otherwise is a bright spot at album’s end.

But these songs are exceptions in a collection of rote, faceless rockers that all relate to the concept of touring a rock band.  That’s another problem with the album – I wouldn’t call it a concept album, more of an album with a theme, life on the Road.  Kind of an audio documentary of life on a tour I guess.  But how many songs can you really have about that without losing the listener’s interest?  Yeah, you tour all over the world.  Yeah, you see a lot of white lines on the side of the road from your tour bus.  Ho hum, you already told me about that in several songs already.  I mean, there’s only so much you can tell me about the life of a touring band over 45 minutes that I’m gonna find that interesting.  By the end of the album I’m not really in the mood to hear another song about life on the road again.  It’s kind of monotonous having one song after another talking about the crowds you play to and the roadies you travel with and the girls you leave behind and white lines on the road and whatnot.

And as I said before, pretty much all of the stuff on the album that is meant to be funny just isn’t.  Take “Big Boots” (get it?  It sounds like big bewbs, yuck yuck).  You know, maybe just a line or two in a song saying a waitress has big boots might have been mildly amusing, but it’s not a strong enough joke to build a whole song around.  And again, like most of the other songs, its got a kind of catchy chorus, but not catchy enough to really grab you.  Same with “Go Away”, wherein Alice describes a pesky stalker who spams him every night and calls and texts and writes.  It’s clearly an attempt at humor, but it just isn’t really all that funny.  Actually, this one has some unforgivably bad lines: “She’s a thorn stickin’ in my shoe / Like a kidney stone that just won’t pass through”.  Sorry, Alice, that’s kind of awful.  Alice gives us a spoken word section in “Rules of the Road” where his delivery is excellent – it’s just what he’s saying doesn’t tickle the funny bone so much.  Alice used to be reliably hilarious – I don’t know, you know how most old people don’t seem to know what’s funny?  Maybe he just got too old to be funny or something, I don’t know.

By the time I get to “100 Miles” near the end of the album I’m grateful for a little variety – too much of the rest of the album sounds kind of samey – but I’m still kind of worn out on road touring songs, and it’s not a great song either.  Not a bad chorus – typical on this album – but not strong enough to carry the song.  And what that’s spoken “I see the sign ahead / It says a hundred more miles” at the end of the song?  I thought he was going to say something else after that, and the the song just ended, and I was left going “geez, what was the point of that?”

I don’t know that I think Alice Cooper ever made a bad album – I actually love some of the ones that are generally considered turkeys (Zipper Catches Skin for example. Ultimate Classic Rock might have put it 27th out of 28 in their ranking of Alice Cooper albums, but don’t care what they say, I love that album. Hell, that line “when zipper grabs skin/I’ll know I had it out when I should have kept it in” all by itself makes it an album worth having. “Zorro’s Ascent” is hilarious. How could you not love a song called “That Was the Day My Dead Pet Returned to Save My Life”? And don’t you think the back cover is pretty funny given the title of the album? I sure do).

But Alice has certainly made his share of albums that aren’t worth getting excited about, and his last few have fit neatly into that category. As a matter of fact, it pains me to say it, but the last Alice Cooper album I really got excited about was 2003’s The Eyes of Alice Cooper. That was the last album that really had a lot of standout songs – “Man of the Year” and “Novocaine” and “Detroit City” and “The Song That Didn’t Rhyme” and several others are songs I still go back to time and again. 2005’s Dirty Diamonds did have a couple of winners, “Woman of Mass Distraction”, and especially Alice’s marvelously earnest-yet-somehow-still-perverse take on the Left Banke’s “Pretty Ballerina”. 2011’s Welcome 2 My Nightmare had the odd song or two that caught my interest. But after that, if I am going to be brutally honest with myself, I can pretty much take it or leave it when it comes to the albums that followed. Except Breadcrumbs, that one was great, that one gave me hope for the future. Unfortunately it was better than the album it was supposed to serve as a teaser for, Detroit Stories. Alice keeps trying, I’ll give him that – but in all the years since The Eyes of he just hasn’t felt like the same old Alice anymore. The guy is as old as dirt, maybe he just outlived his muse or something.

I’m about as big an Alice Cooper fan as there is. Two weeks ago I saw him for the 13th time, and in October I’ll make it 14. I’ve spent literally hours of my life with a grin on my face thanks to Alice. Hell, he even wished me happy birthday one year – sure, only because my wife paid him via Cameo – but Alice sang just for me. How many of you can say that? And he was a riot in his Cameo video, he can be a genuinely funny human being (way more funny than the Rudy Giuliani Cameo my brother’s kids bought him as a gag gift). For some weird reason he isn’t funny on this album, and I’m not sure why. I hate to give Alice a bad rating, but I can’t really honor the spirit of being brutally honest if I go easy on him just because I love the guy so much. As much as it pains me to say it, this isn’t a great album. Maybe it’s time for our old friend Alice to just stick to touring, after all these years that’s the one thing where he’s never let us down. Just don’t let him sing about it.

P.S. Now the recent Alice Cooper-related release I’d highly recommend is The Hollywood Vampires – Live in Rio. The show is fantastic, and Alice is in better voice than I’ve seen him in years. Check it out.

64 responses to “Album Review: Alice Cooper – Road”

  1. This was a 5/10 album for me at first. After my 5th listen it’s a 7. Really growing on me, I get the concept and the mood now. Gets better with time.

    Like

  2. Excellent review as always. “Can you build a great album on moderately catchy choruses?” Don’t know about an album but there are a LOT of meh songs with great choruses. The AC song, “Poison” comes to immediate mind. And many of Bon Jovi’s songs. “Walk Away Renee”, “Ride Captain Ride”, and a billion others.

    Like

  3. Alice’s menace was a lot more effective when it was implied, rather than forced. This album lacks all the nuances, and self reflection, that made his pre 90’s albums so listenable, even ‘Special Forces’. To me this is just a more interesting Bon Jovi record. How the mighty have fallen.

    Like

  4. Every artist or band I love has a best before date. I’ve made a game of it over beers: “What’s the album that (so and so) should’ve quit after?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep. And you wish they would have quit before such and such album. That’s why I respect Billy Joel – he didn’t necessarily quit in time, but he did quit once he realized he didn’t have any gas left in the tank, and that was thirty years ago. Think about how many forgettable albums his peers have released over those three decades.

      Like

      • Agreed completely on what you say about Billy Joel. But, I do love Alice bringing out new material, as it shows how Alice, and his taste ages. And that’s something we’ll never know about Billy Joel. So there’s an up and downside to both approaches.

        I both love Alice and Billy Joel.

        I like the album, and I think it’s worth more than 3/10. I do love your brutal honesty and I might come check your reviews out more from now on!

        Like

      • Thanks. You know, maybe the thing I need to keep in mind is that a least we are getting a couple of good songs on his last few albums we wouldn’t have gotten if he’d just quit. Maybe the good songs make the mediocre albums worth existing.

        Like

  5. Could we actually have an album review as opposed to your political views and lies? Seriously, instead of a review we get the stupidity of this writer’s beliefs that are wafer thin and one sided ignorance. Grow up! Pathetic. Sorry you disagree with him speaking the truth lately. Work it out with your shrink and take more psych meds!

    Like

    • Well that’s quite the rant, somebody is a little testy and defensive. But I’m not seeing any substantive refutation of anything I said. Anyone can fling insults, actually presenting an informed counter-argument would make me take your comments a little more seriously. What “lies”, exactly, did I tell? But if you don’t like the political references, I’ll tell you what, I will refund every single penny I charged you to read it, how’s that? Nobody’s making you read anything. I have to say I take issue with you using therapy and medication as an insult – that’s pretty vile really, therapy and medication save a lot of lives, and it’s pretty low to refer to those things in a derogatory manner like that. “Sorry you disagree with him speaking the truth lately”? Who is this “him”? I don’t recall referring to anyone in particular.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree 100%. I was a guest on a recent podcast and this sounds like my thoughts exactly for the most part. A painful listen for me.

    (One thing though, regarding your comment “They should have invited co-writer Dick Wagner to play guitar on it though, that would have been a nice gesture.”
    Dick Wagner passed away nearly 10 years ago, on July 30, 2014.)

    Like

  7. Interesting review. This album is a slow grower. I like it more and more with each listen. First you say you are one of the biggest Alice fans. Actually and no it doesn’t mean you have to like everything but this album and others like Paranormal sound the same as The Eyes. To say that there hasn’t been an Alice album to get get excited about since that time doesn’t sound like a major fan. For the record, I still think Welcome 2 My Nightmare is Alice’s strongest album since Brutal Planet.

    Now on to my thoughts. I think the issue here is the album was sold on the excitement of Alice’s current touring band playing all over the album. His current band is the strongest band he has ever had and that includes the original band and the Hunter/Wagner lineup. (The original band as good as they are were limited and slightly overrated). The problem with this album is the band were not allowed to really like it all hang out. In other words, they were given a lot of restrictions. I just think the Bob Ezrin well has run dry. And the album recorded last year with the original guys that will come out next year is likely to be the same though it will likely get praised simply because of the blind spot many fans have regarding that era. What you have is safety in recent works. One of the great things I loved about W2MN was even the few songs that didn’t work that well were at least creative. 6 out of 10

    Like

    • Well, I agree, I liked the album more on repeatedly listens, I would have been a lot harder on it after only one listen. I’m interested to see how the album with the original band turns out, I thought Live from the Astroturf was great, they still have some magic.

      Like

      • Let me jump in here. I thought Live from the Astroturf was a snoozefest. Cool I suppose if you want nostalgia or are fixated on one era but I have heard all these songs played and played better with later Alice bands. I don’t need to hear yet another version of them. It sounded fine for what it was but nothing to get excited about. And in terms of the original band songs on a few of the recent Alice albums most were mediocre at best.

        Like

  8. The best Alice Cooper albums with the original band were “Love it to death, Killer, Bilion Dollar Babies. His solo career “Last Temptation” and “Brutal Planet are simply masterpieces. Cooper needs to end his segregation of his belief in Jesus Christ, from his music. That’s why Last Temptation and Brutal are great records

    Like

      • The Last Temptation album by Alice Cooper on Epic records had collaboration from Chris Cornell, Jack Blades, Tommy Shaw and other great musicians. A deep concept record about eternal life. The original CD came with a really cool comic book. Book 1 you could buy Book 2 & 3 separately. It’s simply a masterpiece. Brutal Planet came out five years later. The title song is the greatest Bible thumping anthem of all time. The lyrics says it all. Alice sings about the history of the world, in one song. There are other great songs on the record, like “pick up the bones” “Sanctuary” Strong message of the reality of life. His strong biblical beliefs are presented on both of these records. After these records Cooper did a run of crummy, frivolous records. Many of these records would have 2or3 good songs. Dragon Town, Dirty Diamonds would fall into this category. Alice Cooper got back on track with a strong offering with Paranormal, Billy Gibbons from ZZ top, and U2 drummer Adam Clayton play on the record. Detroit Stories had its moments, however it could of been better

        Like

  9. It’s obvious you know your stuff, and you have a great appreciation for Alice’s music and performances. Opinions may be like a-holes but at least yours has merit. That’s part of what makes America great. Freedom…

    Like

  10. Maybe this is why Robert Plant has been so successful with his solo stuff. He quit trying to be “Zeppelin Plant” and went exploring. Alice desperately needs Alice.

    Like

  11. Just some constructive criticism. Go to the review of the album a little quicker.

    I think this is Alice’s strongest album since W2MN. Alice sings great and the playing is good. The issue is the lyrics often fall into self-parody. I recall Alice being against a song many years ago written by Jon Bon Jovi called “The Ballad of Alice Cooper” yet “I’m Alice” is okay?

    My issue is the “garage sound” production once again. You want to still make albums and all? The garage sound ended in the 70s. Heavier more modern rock is where new music should go. 7/10

    Like

  12. Wow! What a sad little insular life this poster leads…. What in the hell are you talking about?. Obviously that liberal arts degree is not turning out the way you want it. Good lord..

    Like

    • There’s nothing sad or insular about my life, and while I don’t have a degree in liberal arts, there isn’t anything wrong with people who do. It isn’t the insult you seem to think it is. Plenty of people have used a liberal arts degree as a stepping stone to a good life. So I guess I would return the question – what in the hell are you talking about?

      Like

  13. Great review after you actually got around to discussing the album. I almost bailed because I thought you’d posted the wrong thing!

    But yeah, you know I could almost have written the whole review myself, it applies just about exactly to my own thoughts. And I too am about as big an Alice fan as can be

    My exceptions to your words would be missing Brutal Planet, which I consider a near masterpiece, and Dragontown, which I actually think is a pretty great sequel.

    I also find one or two excellent tracks on nearly every album no matter what. Like I think Paranoic Personality is ridiculously good.

    But you’re still kinda right, the consistent spark has been gone quite a while. That said, I’ve had initial disappointments turn into favorites after multiple listens. That’s just how music works in my brain. So I’ll keep listening.

    Like

  14. I’m going 5/10 partially due to context. We are talking about a near 80 year old man still making songs that SOUND like Alice Cooper. To me, this stuff is MUCH better than the Desmond Child/”Poison” type BS.
    Some of these hooks even recall 70s Alice and that is no mean feat…when’s the last time Aerosmith made a song that actually sounded like AEROSMITH?

    I think there are 4 or 5 tunes worth revisiting, and in 2023 that’s not bad at all. In fact, it’s worth a couple numbers on the ol’ rating system. Of course, we all come into albums and movies with our preconceived notions and biases, but even objectively speaking, and knowing that Alice Cooper of 1975 isn’t gonna walk in that door, a record like this from an 80 year old man is pretty damn badass.

    Also…comparing a partner to passing a kidney stone?! Ha. I gotta disagree again. That’s pretty Coop-ish of him.

    Like

    • You know, I go back and forth on cutting rock stars in their 70s and 80s a break – on the one hand, it’s amazing anybody is still doing anything at that age. But on the other, it’s not like they are giving us an “old rock star” discount and charging less for their music because they can’t do everything they did when they were younger. Part of me thinks an old man playing a young man’s game shouldn’t get a pass, but part of me respects their willingness to keep playing a young man’s game.

      Like

  15. It is against the law for critics and others to partake in hate speech. Reference to age, gender,ethnic background, race and more are
    grounds for a lawsuit. Lucky for you, that Alice Cooper is too productive to have time to read your remarks. You do not know for a fact that age relates to failure in the arts.
    Many visual artist finally get recognized for doing a genius level of art the last decade of their lives. Do any of you have a degree in Cognitive Psychology?? You do not know how a mind works. Stress can cause writers’ block, artists block and more.Stop assuming.
    I am reading vicious human nature. I will not read this reviewer ever again.

    Like

    • Well I don’t know, hate speech? I did say he was old as dirt, but I wouldn’t really consider that hate speech. I did say sometimes old people don’t know what’s funny, but is that really hate speech? I think Alice would agree he’s old. And I think there is a place for a legitimate and appropriate conversation about age and rock music – we’ve reached a point where the guy who sang “I hope I die before I get old” is now almost 80. People in their seventies obviously can’t compete in the Olympics. People in their seventies generally don’t still have jobs that require manual labor. Geez, guys in their late 30s are considered old for playing NFL football. Why is it wrong to have a conversation about whether being in your seventies impacts your artistry as a hard rocker?

      Did I say some things that were offensive? Perhaps, and perhaps I shouldn’t have. But I wouldn’t really call it hate speech. I don’t know if it really meets the threshold of “abusive or threatening speech or writing”. I don’t know that my comments were abusive, and certainly not threatening.

      Liked by 1 person

      • So. I read your review and decided against giving it a listen because 3/10, LOL. Our local paper’s music writer gave it a 4.5/5 stars and he has generally been a very good barometer on the quality of albums. So, again, I download the album and give it a listen. Yep 3/10, no question.

        Not that I listen a ton to lyrics but they were just brutal. So, deleted the download. All good now.

        Like

  16. This review is pretty much everything I have felt about an Alice Cooper album since just after From The Inside. That album was the last one I could listen to more than once. He doesn’t have the songwriting team that he used to have whether it was Dick Wagner or members of the original band, he just doesn’t have good writing partners anymore. It’s the same old formula with every album and do not get me started about billion Dollar babies the sequel what an awful awful awful album.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Well if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say it at all. Nita Bar none? That’s a big, not! Billy Joel had to quit he pissed in the best musician’s he had. If old is the problem I’m glad Johnny Cash didn’t believe that.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Well, I gotta say, this was both entertaining and informative! I’d never heard of you or this blog, but I also wanted to get a sense of this album before I picked it up and this came up on Google.

    I started laughing around paragraph 3, cuz I was sure I’d landed on some mis-post! But before that, I definitely noticed “brutally honest reviews” at the top and got a good feeling about it.

    What I love is that this not only IS a brutally honest review, but it’s so clearly written from a perspective of love of rock music. And it’s nothing if not THOROUGH, without being boring. Though it’s far less… formal?… than reviews I grew up loving, it reminds me of that time when writers just said how albums struck them; they captured the feeling of the listening experience, and it helped immensely that they had some genuine journalistic skills backing them up.

    Throughout my life, friends and I have bantered about endless albums, and like most fans, have freely praised and critiqued them amongst ourselves. The original brutally honest reviews, right? And that’s absolutely the vibe I have from just this one assessment. This is writing that is truly refreshing and FUN to read! And, just because it’s one of my not-just-Internet issues, I give bonus points for the writing itself— structure, grammar and spelling. I mean, yeah!

    Anyway, I’m happy to have stumbled across your blog space. I’m in for more!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. It’s a damn GREAT akbum. Period. What a waste of time reading through your overly long griping session. This is his best album since welcome To My Nightmare,ffs. Do yourself a favor and retire from boring us with your skewed excuses for reviews. Unreal.. T

    Like

  20. Dick Wagner and Steve Wagner may be good but not the original guitarists that made Alice Cooper good And famous. Credit where credit is due.

    Like

  21. My son wanted me to me to order new alice coopet album and as he is registered blind I read out what was on the album but so many of the songs are repeated . Most of songs on side 1 are also on side 2 so it’s put him off buying it. Why are so many of the songs repeated

    Like

  22. The more I listen to this album, the more I get the impression that this is the album that Alice stated it was going to be. An album in honour of, for, and, musically, about his current band. The opening song, yes, states that this is Alice, and what the Alice Cooper character sets out to do. This stated, the rest of the album is firstly, the band, and how well they play as a unit, then secondly, the lyrics, with Alice gelling ‘with’ the band, not overriding it.
    ‘That’ I believe, is the concept, and fully realises what it set out to be.
    I find this to be a mighty fine album.
    Just my opinion folks .

    Like

    • As with all Alice albums (and all songs & albums in general) my rating of _Road_ has increased with each listen. You are right – it accomplishes what it sets out to do. I like it, but it would almost certainly never rank among my top 10 Alice albums, probably more in the bottom half somewhere. But I can find things to like about even the worst Alice album!

      Like

  23. I was looking forward to picking this album up, had it in my hands, walking to the counter when I happened to look at my phone and discovered the artist who took great pride in not being political, had lost a cosmetics deal…🤔…after that, I returned the album back to its spot.

    Sorry to hear it’s more of a filler album but much happier I didn’t spend my money.

    I myself have been an Alice fan since the 70s

    Like

    • Well, that was a good call. Sure, Alice is entitled to his opinions, and makeup companies are entitled to drop deals with him and buyers are entitled to not buy his stuff if he says something harmful. So good on ya mate, and you didn’t miss anything anyway.

      Like

Leave a comment


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started